• Reviews by Manufacturer

Marks & Spencer Organic Mini Eggs

On with the Easter offerings, and onto a supermarket chain to be precise. Solid milk chocolate (organic to boot) mini eggs, from Marks & Spencer.

A yellow nylon net bag and label (reminding me somewhat of a satsuma bag to be honest) containing 18 of the little gems. A quick note to the diet conscious though – there is no nutritional info on these, and when I worked it out using an external source, I calculated it to be 40 calories . . . PER EGG! Times 18, and you have a wopping 720 calories in this innocent looking little bag. I know that chocolate is not designed to be low-cal, but it would be easy to be fooled just by looking at them.
Now when one of these was offered to be by a colleague (without any indicative packaging), I was disappointed when I bit into to it. For some reason I was expecting something nutty, a little praline perhaps. But no – these are solid chocolate. Hey, even Cadbury’s manage to put a sugary shell round it!! I also feel a little deprived as there is barely a hint of that gorgeous milk chocolate smell.
As far as the chocolate goes, its not bad. It is typically your sweet, creamy and mild (mild for someone who likes to indulge in the odd bar of 82% cocoa) milk chocolate, designed I feel for the yummy mummies of the middle classes, who want to buy their children something for Easter that doesn’t break their “Organic Only” efforts. This is Marks and Spencer after all. It does have a pleasant taste with a hint of vanilla released on letting it melt, and a smooth texture.
So what can I say? Fairly pleasant milk chocolate – that’s all. In an amusing egg shape. Moreish to an extent, but the sweet chocolate leaves an aftertaste that is not so sweet.
How about something like praline, M&S? Now that, I really would find moreish. But not bad milk chocolate. I prefer it to Cadbury and could eat a few. But they are instantly forgettable.
HOW NAUGHTY IS IT?
Calories: 40
Fat: 2.4g
(per egg, estimated)

Leave a comment